What’s the Difference Between Latin America and Anglo America?

To understand the difference between Latin America and Anglo America, read these two questions and answers.

1. Why are parts of North America called Anglo America?

North America is the third largest continent in the world. It consists of the United States, Canada, Greenland, Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean islands.

Canada and the USA are sometimes called Anglo America because many of its settlers came from England, and English is the dominant language of the region. Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean are called Middle America because they lie between North and South America.

Spanish is the main language in Middle America, with the exception of the Caribbean Islands, where English is spoken.

Recommended Read: Why is Asia known as ‘the cradle of civilization’?

2. Why is South America is called Latin America?

South America is part of a larger region where the main languages are spoken are Portuguese and Spanish. Since these languages are derived from the ancient language, Latin, the region is called Latin America. Mexico, most of Central and South America, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, and Puerto Rico in the Caribbean together form Latin America.

Few Facts on the Difference Between Latin America and Anglo America:

  • Latin America or South America constitutes 5.58%of the world population while Anglo America 7.64%.
  • There are a total of 33 countries in Latin America according to the United Nations. The biggest Latin country is Brazil.
  • There are a total of 23 countries in North America. It includes United States, Canada, Mexico, and 20 other counties.

Hope this answered the ‘difference Between Latin America and Anglo America’.