What are Equestrian Sports? Name of Olympic Equestrian Sports

Equestrian sports refer to skills in riding horses. Horse sports such as chariot and riding races were part of other Olympics Games. Riding was first included in the 1900 Olympics and reappeared in 1912. The Olympic equestrian sports are dressage, three-day eventing, and show jumping.

Dressage is the systematic training of a horse to carry a rider with ease and grace. Olympic-level dressage competition highlights the most advanced and refined riding skills. It is often compared to ballet on horseback.

Showjumping tests the ability of horse and rider to jump over a series of obstacles inside a riding ring. You will see horses and riders jumping over a present course of 10 to 16 jumps. The teams or individual riders must finish within a set time and penalties are given for looking down rails and other faults.

The evening is a test of the skill, courage, and endurance of horses and riders. Three-day eventing consists of three disciplines cross country jumping, dressage and stadium jumping. The cross-country phase takes place over a course of natural and man-made objects. There can be up to 40 obstacles that horses must go through over the course.

Recommended Read: Who Invented the Modern Olympic Games? History & Facts

Olympic Equestrian Sports

1. Show jumping, individual 

2. Show jumping, team

3. Eventing, individual

4. Eventing, team

5. Dressage, individual

6. Dressage, team

Recommended Reads: