Connect with us

Anime

Should “My Next Life as a Villainess” Anime be on your watchlist? (review and more)

Are you looking for an anime that relieves you from stress and lets you enter an Otome world? Then dive into My Next Life As A Villainess Anime Review to find out more.

Published

on

My Next Life As A Villainess Anime Review

Satoru Yamaguchi has written an amazingly mind-blowing light novel series: My Next Life as a Villainess: All Routes Lead to Doom!, also known as HameFura Nami Hidaka has illustrated it and the serialization began online in July 2014 on the website- Shōsetsuka ni Narō

 Nine volumes have been released till April 2020. 

An anime television series adaptation by Silver Link premiered in April and ran till June 2020, and a second season is set to premiere in July 2021.

The Plot of My Next Life as a Villainess (season 1)

My Next Life As A Villainess Review

Katarina Claes is the daughter of a noble family. She regains her memories of her past life after getting a head bump. And at the same moment, she suddenly realizes that she has been reborn into the world of the otome game fortune Lover, reincarnated as the game’s villainess who, regardless of what route the player takes in the original game, will be either killed or exiled.

Catarina starts taking countermeasures to avoid the destructive flags that would lead the same way as the game. However, her whole plan has unexpected consequences on her relations with the other characters of the game’s world, making it so interesting to watch My Next Life As A Villainess till the end.

Official News

My Next Life as a Villainess Anime Season 2’s Teaser is out!

Finally, the wait is over! One of the rom-com which ranked first in kiss anime last year is back with a second season to make you all laugh till you die.

My Next Life as a Villainess’s official website (mentioned in the source) light novels aired a new teaser trailer and visual for the anime’s second season on Wednesday. The video revealed that the second season would premiere in July.

Keisuke Inoue directed the first season of My Next Life As A Villainess at SILVER LINK. Megumi Shimizu (Snow White with the Red Hair) was the script supervisor for My Next Life As A Villainess season 1, and Miwa Oshima (Baka and Test – Summon the Beasts) is the character designer for the series.

Related  Hundred Season 2: Will There Be A Release Soon?

The My Next Life As A Villainess anime made its debut in April 2020 in Japan. The English dub made it was debuted in May 2020.

Yamaguchi started the My Next Life As A Villainess original novel series on the Shōsetsuka ni Narō! Website in July 2014 and Ichijinsha published the novels with illustrations by Nami Hidaka in August 2015. Hidaka provides the art and designs for the ongoing My Next Life As A Villainess manga.

Seven Seas Entertainment will be publishing the manga in English, which is good news for the fans.

Check out the My Next Life as a Villainess Season 2 trailer here!

Source: My Next Life as a Villainess website, Comic Natalie

Review on My Next Life As A Villainess Season 1

It’s time for the Otome Isekai “My Next Life As A Villainess” to take the world by a single swipe of moe moments. We’ve had so many different types of isekai last year, and that this was destined to happen. This show is naturally vibrant and funny with its dynamic episodes and characters.

My Next Life As A Villainess Review

My Next Life As A Villainess original novels gained a fan base after the relay, and the popularity would surely reach a peak after the anime adaptation. Hamefura is based on the same name’s light novel, which has a female protagonist, Katarina Claes. She is reborn as a villainous character in a game known as ‘Fortune Teller,’ and all her fate leads to doom, but it’s also a challenge for her to deal with the destructive flags and win the game. Hamefura is not a show with a serious plot. In most of the episodes, I’ve seen Katarina playing her life like a game in the other world to escape her deadly fate. 

Why should you watch it?

Before discussing the My Next Life As A Villainess anime, I think it’s important to watch this show without having anything on your mind and just enjoying the flow. Hamefura has tons of moments of comedy, character gags and is liable to shipping wars. Katarina is a single woman, and the male cast is made of gentlemen of high class; it’s a reverse harem. But the other girls are cute, who even start showing more affection to Katarina than to a male character, which makes it even more interesting and funny.

Related  That Time I Got Reincarnated As A Slime - Review and Season 2

In fact, many of the male characters she comes across are wish-fulling guys you’d see in an otome game. Katarina is not the type to chase after them for romance because she’s too busy planning an escape from her destructive fate. She’s so dense that they’d practically have to confess ‘I love you’ to get her attention.

But besides that, Katarina has a rather peculiar mind, which is evident through the surrealistic court hearings we often see throughout the show(one of the best scenes in the episodes that’ll make you laugh your teeth out). It’s a constant gag that plays on Katarina’s psyche and shows how her mind works in a very peculiar fashion.

My Next Life As A Villainess Review

But it doesn’t end here; we also see the younger version of Katarina, who retains the same personality. This same gag applies to other characters, including Alan Stuart, Keith Claes, Mary Hunt, and others.

Some questions that arise while watching this show are:- Do you want to watch episodes where Katherina avoids her doomed fate? Or would you like to see her in a serious relationship with one of the main male characters? Or do you want her to have a normal life? Well, this is what makes it interesting as the story proceeds.

An insight to Katarina’s character

In the first few episodes, we see Katarina adjusting to her life as a villainous protagonist. Her charming and friendly personality lets her build meaningful relationships with important characters. She even plans to become a gardener/farmer to avoid the red flags that would lead her to doom. After regaining her memories, Katarina becomes a humble person willing to help everyone, although she’s still in the dark when it comes to others’ feelings about her.

To put it simply, she is dense like an ocean with no bottom. She keeps trying to change her relationship status with the male cast to avoid certain game endings. In contrast to her game version character, Katarina goes out of her way to fix mistakes, such as being a better sister for Keith.

Related  Jujutsu Kaisen 0 Release Date Finally Confirmed; Fans Excited

Furthermore, Katarina’s actions cause others to see her different nature compared to her in-game character. It can be said that Katarina is undoubtedly socially gifted but an academic failure in all respects. This is the reason she’s called Bakarina by the fan community.

Is the Anime Romantic?

This anime doesn’t revolve around romance but rather aims its focus at Katarina at every chance. Watching Hamefura is enjoyable, and honestly, it’s a show that delivers you some wholesome content. If you want to read something romantic, why don’t you check out the Horimiya review to know more?

Where to Watch?

Conclusion

My Next Life As A Villainess Review

Studio Silver Links direct it, the very reason behind the elegant charisma bestowed upon the characters. The dressing of the characters into noble clothes fit their aristocratic status, especially for the male characters. Katarina herself is cute and beautiful with her lady-like behavior during important episodes.

Some episodes depict her as more elegant nature than others, especially during dance sequences. It gives a certain level of mystique and bewitching to her character when she wears a mask compared to her plain gardener look. The world of fiction contains colorful architectures, void of modern technology. And finally, I want to compliment our main heroine’s voice acting.

The voice acting was really natural and overall maintained the quality of the anime. Give this a watch if you’re looking for something light-hearted and fun. I’m really excited about the second season and can’t wait till July. So all the bakarina fans, are you ready for another wholesome season?

I’ll rate it 3.5/5 stars.

FAQs on My Next Life As A Villainess

1. Is my life as a villainess Yuri?

No, it’s not yuri, but funny scenes make it enjoyable to see a girl with her own little yuri harem, but I’m hoping that Katerina sees them as more than just friends in the second season. This can be the yuri anime of the year somehow because the scenes make it seem so.

2. Is the Fortune Lover game available For Real?

No, but you can find many RPGs similar to it in the play store.

3. Does Katarina end up with Maria?

Katarina realizes what’s happening here: it’s Fortune Lover’s friendship ending, which means she isn’t doomed. Ordinarily, friendship-only endings are anticlimactic for otome games, but for Katarina Claes, Maria’s love for her and friends is s delightful ending.

For daily news and reviews keep following Hablr!

@just_chubby_ "Feel the essence of anime through my words; perceive the beauty of manga through the images that I carve into your cells" This otaku wasn't born yesterday. Always up for debates on "Reality Tv shows Vs. Anime", Anime marathon, and memes.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

6 + 9 =