Connect with us

Anime

That Time I Got Reincarnated As A Slime – Review and Season 2

“That Time I Got Reincarnated As A Slime” what a bizarre title, right? How can someone even watch an anime with a name like that? But guess what? You shouldn’t judge an anime by its name so keep reading to know whether you should watch it or not.

Published

on

That Time I Got Reincarnated As A Slime - A Flop Or A Hit Anime?

“That Time I Got Reincarnated As A Slime” what a bizarre title, right? How can someone even watch an anime with a name like that? But guess what? You shouldn’t judge an anime by its name so keep reading to know whether you should watch it or not.

That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime  (Tensei Shitara Slime Datta Ken) is an anime adaptation of light novels and manga series of the same name. That Time I Got Reincarnated As 8-Bit produces a Slime Anime, which aired 4 episodes and 1 special episode. The series premiered on October 2, 2018. A second season was already announced and will be another 2- cour series. The first cour will make it to the screens on January 12, 2021, and the second cour will be aired by July 2021. 

 Season 2 of That Time I Got Reincarnated As A Slime Anime was initially about to be aired on October 2020 and April 2021, respectively, but was delayed due to COVID-19.

The Plot

That Time I Got Reincarnated As A Slime - A Flop Or Hit Anime?

 In the real world, Satoru was the epitome of an average guy. He led a normal life, and nothing extraordinary ever happened to him. After a senseless act of violence, Satoru gets killed. But wait, this isn’t the end; there’s more. A whole lot of fantastical adventure is still left.

He wakes up in a dark cave, Satoru Mikami realizes that he is reincarnated as the slime monster named Rimuru Tempest (voiced by Miho Okasaki). But the special thing about Rimuru is that he has several remarkable abilities that can change the new fantasy-like world in many great and mysterious ways.

As the story of That Time I Got Reincarnated As A Slime Anime progresses, we see Rimuru head off on a journey like no other. A great life packed with adventures lies ahead of him. We will witness this little slime that will prove to be the most influential creature that has ever existed.

Recommended Read: Top 10 Strongest Celestial Dragons in One Piece

Official News

That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime Anime Season 2 delayed to 12 January due to Covid 19

Crunchyroll and Funimation announced that the second season of That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime will begin airing from January 12 onwards in Japan. 

The That Time I Got Reincarnated As A Slime second season will be two cours or two quarters in one year. The first cour will premiere in January 2021, and the second cour will air in July 2021. Shiba’s spinoff manga will also get a television anime that will premiere in April 2021.

Related  Ao Haru Ride: New Season, Characters, Plot Review, and More

The That Time I Got Reincarnated As A Slime anime was originally scheduled to premiere three months earlier but were delayed due to the new strains of coronavirus disease (COVID-19) affecting their production schedules.

Sources: Crunchyroll (Joseph Luster), Funimation

Review on That Time I Got Reincarnated As A Slime Anime

Life gets difficult as we grow up, and by the time we get employed, we regret many things that we couldn’t do in the past. Typically every worker works on an 8 am -5 pm schedule to make a living. Similarly, Satoru Mikami is just another simple being like us until he gets reincarnated as a slime after dying in a knife attack. You can call the theme “Life is full of surprises” of That Time I Got Reincarnated As A Slime anime.

That Time I Got Reincarnated As A Slime - A Flop Or Hit Anime?

That Time I Got Reincarnated As A Slime Anime is a combination of usual fantasy gimmicks. Still, it sure does a unique job entertaining the audience through its charismatic main lead, world fiction, and creative storytelling. I want to recommend this show to you if you’re in for a fantasy isekai, one that has a slime as the superstar.

Is the story interesting?

Satoru, who is reborn as a slime, plays a crucial role in everything around him. Various personality traits: kind, witty, laidback, sarcastic, courageous, and others are revealed once he makes up an alliance with “Rimuru.” At one look, Rimuru can be very likable. (Reference: In the first few episodes of the show, Rimuru’s charisma and being able to lead supernatural creatures without fear was exceptionally mesmerizing for many).

He also calls new friends by nicknames, which shows his compassion. Rimuru is a special character in the show. We can deduce this by looking thoroughly at his immense abilities (such as his Predator skill), where viewers can easily point fingers at him for being overpowered (It’s true to some extent). In most of his battles, Rimuru can dominate his opponents.

That Time I Got Reincarnated As A Slime - A Flop Or Hit Anime?

From isekai shows in today’s world, overpowered characters are pretty common. The main difference between Rimuru and them is his unnatural charisma and human behavior. The witty conversations and small talks that he engages with others often turn into fistfights that are entertaining. Even in serious conflicts, Rimuru tries to be funny while being strategic enough to develop a masterplan. 

The That Time I Got Reincarnated As A Slime anime sometimes consists of dramatic and emotional scenes, which balances out the Humour part well. The emotional context plays a pivotal role when it comes to a character named Shizu. After a fiery battle against a demon known as Ifrit, the past and background Stories of Rimuru and other characters are revealed.

Related  Top 5 Dark and Bold Anime like Castlevania!

Soon, Rimuru realizes that he can’t save everyone regardless of how powerful he is. Thus he starts his life as a mentor when Rimuru finds a group of children with magical potential and tries to lead them as a positive role model.

Well-Balanced Cast

Although the isekai show has a powerful protagonist, it doesn’t mean we should ignore the cast or side characters. We meet a variety of characters with unique personalities during Rimuru’s adventures. Some leave an impression on the viewers, including his allies such as Shion, Shuna, Gobuta, Benimaru, Ranga, and later on, the Demon Lord Millim.

As Rimuzu socializes easily, it’s evident that his charisma inspires others. Many of Rimuru’s followers look up to him with respect, and he reciprocates the same. Even Millim, a Demon Lord with overwhelming powers, starts to like him as the two become friends. Respect isn’t sold in the market but earned. Rimuru’s abilities let him manage alliances with the most unlikely races well.

Under Rimuru’s leadership, Millim even begins to build a new country with his allies. The central element is Rimuru’s storytelling ability to convince others. By the end of the show, I understood and related to Rimuru far more than I originally anticipated.

Some Negative Points

No anime is totally perfect. Even though I really like this show, it doesn’t mean it’s the best anime ever.

The That Time I Got Reincarnated As A Slime anime has its own witty humor, a colorful character cast, and storytelling, but I must also tell you that there were faults in it. The author included bathing scenes as fan service, which wasn’t really necessary. He also made the monster girls cute and sexy as much as possible; if you take a closer look at Millim, she’s pretty much half-naked, and she looks mature.

Elves are considered desired by males; hence, in the early episodes, Rimuru had brief lust moments when he encountered them first. Sometimes it turns ecchi, which is not really suitable for younger teens. Although the storytelling developed well and carried the emotional weightage, it’s not that great. Many of Rimuru’s battles are predictable, which makes it a little boring for the viewers.

Animation

 The magical world of That Time I Got Reincarnated As A Slime contains a fruitful amount of content, such as the various nations we see. Tempest is one of the best nations ruled by Rimuru. Located in the Jura Forest, it’s a perfect example of a monster country filled with larger than life characters. On the other hand, the other locations, such as the Brumund Kingdom and Dwargon, are more like high fantasy elements of the isekai genre.

Related  5 Best Ecchi Anime You Should Watch

The visual quality is okay, but sometimes it feels like it’s cartoonish, although it remains vibrant, bright and contains a fine degree of the palette. You should watch this show if you’re in for some lighthearted humor. The character designs steal the hearts of many, like Rimuru, the Demon Lords, his monster allies, and the infamous Veldora Tempest. The author had put in efforts to make them look as otherworldly as much as possible.

The battle choreography was good. There was nothing like groundbreaking except the character personalities. Don’t watch this if you expect it to be a DBZ-level style of action quality but be prepared for some jawbreaking cinematography.

Where to Watch?

Conclusion

That Time I Got Reincarnated As A Slime - A Flop Or Hit Anime?

If you’re someone who desires a simple and worry-free life, then you’ll end up envying Rimuru’s life. He is carefree even though he is such a prominent figure in his world. He makes everything looks really easy; whether it’s taking on slime or making an alliance with a demon, he can do it all. If you watch That Time I Got Reincarnated As A Slime Anime, it will feel like passing the time and enjoying a slimy experience. You can also check out the AOT episode 6 review if you’re an AOT fan.

I’m amazed that I actually ended up liking That Time I Got Reincarnated As A Slime anime series. It was a solid fantasy-adventure story (although the protagonist was just a slime). The narrative was on point and flawless; the action was as exciting as possible and provided the brilliant protagonist’s right base to shine. I kept longing for more of this series because it had small surprises now and then. 

You can also watch a review video for more details!

FAQs on That Time I Got Reincarnated As A Slime Anime

1. Is Rimuru Tempest a girl?

We didnt get any declaration whether he is a boy or girl as there was no visible evidence. So he gets mistaken for a young girl because his original form belonged to Shizue Izawa. But I think he is a boy overall or a trap.

2. Does Rimuru have a love interest?

Rimuru is sterile and doesn’t have a lifespan like other species so there is no biological reason to love. hence we don’t get to witness much romatic scenes in the anime.

3. Is Rimuru a God?

Spoiler: At the end, Rimuru becomes a God/Supreme Deity. As a God, Rimuru also gets to rule over space-time, and can reach anytime or anywhere in future or past.

Recommended Reads:

@just_chubby_ "Feel the essence of anime through my words; perceive the beauty of manga through the images that I carve into your cells" This otaku wasn't born yesterday. Always up for debates on "Reality Tv shows Vs. Anime", Anime marathon, and memes.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

two × 5 =